European Consortium for Sociological Research (ECSR) Spring School: Geography, Mobility, and Social Stratification

Date of event: 
March 23, 2020 - March 27, 2020
Submission deadline: 
February 16, 2020
Collegio Carlo Alberto, Turin, Italy

The topic for the eighth edition of the ECSR Spring School is “Geography, Mobility and Social Stratification”. The School is promoted by the European Consortium of Sociological Research (ECSR), Collegio Carlo Alberto and by the universities of Milan and Turin in the frame of the NASP, Network for the Advancement in Social and Political Studies. It provides high-quality training on current research on the geographical dimension of social stratification and inequality, including geographical mobility, both internal and international, as well as residential and educational segregation. The faculty includes sociologists, demographers and geographers, since the focus of the school is on the way geographical information might be included in the analysis of social stratification, in particular to study the interrelations between geography and other mechanisms of intergenerational reproduction of status.

A limited number of doctoral students and young researchers will participate in a five-day, full-immersion course, including lectures on the key topics in the field – both conceptual and methodological –, workshops and the opportunity to present their work and have it discussed by leading scholars in the field.

The School is organized by Nazareno Panichella (University of Milan), Gabriele Ballarino (University of Milan), Filippo Barbera (Collegio Carlo Alberto and University of Turin), Fabrizio Bernardi (European University Institute), Camilla Borgna (Collegio Carlo Alberto) and Tiziana Nazio (Collegio Carlo Alberto and University of  Turin). Lectures will be given and presentations discussed by Gabriele Ballarino (University of Milan), Kendra Bischoff (Cornell University), Stefano Cantalini (University of Milan), Tony Fielding (University of Sussex), Alison Heppenstall (University of Leeds), Roberto Impicciatore (University of Bologna), Heleen Janssen (Delft University of Technology), Hill Kulu (University of St Andrews), Nazareno Panichella (University of Milan), Maarten van Ham (Delft University of Technology), Sergi Vidal (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Carolina Zuccotti (European University Institute).

Applications have to be sent by email ( by February the 16th 2020, and should include:

  1. an abstract of the paper that will be presented (up to 500 words); 
  2. a short summary of PhD thesis project or current research (up to 3 pages); 
  3. a brief CV (one page).


Priority in admission will be given to students from Institutions that belong to the ECSR.

Admission to the School is free of charge. Admitted students will be provided with hotel accommodation, all lunches and the social dinner. Other dinners and travel expenses to and from Turin will not be covered.

For information: Prof. Nazareno Panichella (