Sequence Analysis Association 1st International Conference

Date of event: 
June 10, 2020 - June 12, 2020
Submission deadline: 
January 13, 2020
Bocconi University, Milan, Italy

The Sequence Analysis Association is pleased to announce the Sequence Analysis Association 1st International Conference, organized together with the DONDENA Centre for Research on Social Dynamics and Public Policy with the support of BIDSA (Bocconi Institute for Data Science and Analytics) and of INVEST Research Flagship Center (University of Turku, Finland).

The aim of the conference is to bring together scholars applying or developing Sequence Analysis and other innovative methods for analysing longitudinal data in social, economic, managerial, political, health, or environmental sciences.

The conference will focus not only on the development of Sequence Analysis methodology itself but also on its relations to and integration with other methodological frameworks including qualitative analysis, event history analysis, Markov-based models, and other longitudinal stochastic approaches.

Keynote speakers:

  • Andrew Abbott (University of Chicago)
  • Anette Fasang (WZB Berlin Social Science Center, and Humboldt University, Berlin)
  • Emilio Zagheni (Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research).

All submissions connected with Sequence Analysis or related methods in the social sciences are welcome, especially applications of innovative methodology, new methodological developments, method comparisons, and theoretical discussions linking substantive  theory with methodological choices. Proposals across all scientific disciplines and application domains are welcome. The deadline for the submission of original papers or extended abstract (of at least two pages not including references) is January 13th 2020.

For information, registration and submission, visit the conference website:

To receive updates and relevant information register to the SAA and to our newsletter, or follow us on twitter (@SeqAnalysisAssn).

The organizing committee: Raffaella Piccarreta, Matthias Studer, Emanuela Struffolino, Satu Helske, Brendan Halpin, Tim Liao, Gilbert Ritschard, Francesco Billari.