Research Associates

Linda H. Aiken
Claire M. Fagin Leadership Professor of Nursing
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Texas at Austin, 1973
Contact Information:
332R NEB
215-898-9759
laiken@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page, Sociology faculty page
Paul Allison
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1976
Contact Information:
581 McNeil
215-898-6717
allison@soc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Jere R. Behrman
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Economics
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1966
Contact Information:
229 McNeil
215-898-7704
jbehrman@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Richard Berk
Professor of Criminology
Professor of Statistics

Ph.D., Sociology, Johns Hopkins University, 1970

Contact Information:
564 McNeil
215-746-3619
berkr@sas.upenn.edu
Criminology faculty page, Wharton faculty page, Personal site
Alison M. Buttenheim
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Ph.D., Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, 2007
Contact Information:
235 Fagin Hall
215-573-5314
abutt@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Li-Wei Chao
Senior Fellow in the Population Studies Center
Ph.D., Health Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 2002
M.D., Medicine, University of Chicago, 1991
Contact Information:
387 McNeil
215-898-8483
chao69@wharton.upenn.edu
Camille Z. Charles
Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor in Social Sciences
Professor of Sociology and Education
Professor of Africana Studies
Chair, Department of Africana Studies
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Los Angeles, 1995
Contact Information:
3401 Walnut St., Suite 323A
215-898-4965
ccharles@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Dennis Culhane
Dana and Andrew Stone Chair in Social Policy
Professor of Policy Research and Evaluation
Professor of Social Policy
Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Social Psychology, Boston College, 1990
Contact Information:
Caster Building, CML, Office #2
215-349-8705
culhane@mail.med.upenn.edu
Social Policy & Practice faculty page, Selected Works page
Jennifer F. Culhane
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Ph.D., Public Health, Temple University, 1998
Contact Information:
CHOP / 3535 Market St, Suite 880
267-426-6844
culhanej@email.chop.edu
Flávio Cunha
Ph.D., Economics, University of Chicago, 2007
flaviocunha@gmail.com
Angela Lee Duckworth
Associate Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Psychology, University of Pennsylvania, 2006
Contact Information:
3701 Market St., Suite 209
215-898-1339
duckwort@psych.upenn.edu
Psychology faculty page, Personal site
Irma T. Elo
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Public Affairs and Demography, Princeton University, 1990
Contact Information:
243 McNeil
215-898-9162
popelo@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Douglas Ewbank
Research Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Associate Director, Population Aging Research Center
Ph.D., Economics, Princeton University, 1975
Contact Information:
245 McNeil
215-898-7999
ewbank@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Hanming Fang
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 2000
Contact Information:
429 McNeil
215-898-7767
hanming.fang@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Jesús Fernández-Villaverde
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Minnesota, 2001
Contact Information:
440 McNeil
215-898-1504
jesusfv@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Chenoa Flippen
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago 1999
Contact Information:
231 McNeil
215-898-5534
chenoa@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Frank F. Furstenberg
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Columbia University, 1967
Contact Information:
274 McNeil
215-898-6718
fff@ssc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Jeremy Greenwood
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Rochester, 1983
Contact Information:
518 McNeil
215-898-1505
Economics faculty page
Michel Guillot
Chair, Graduate Group in Demography
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Demography and Sociology, University of Pennsylvania, 2000
Contact Information:
242 McNeil
215-573-3655
miguillo@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Emily Hannum
Chair, Graduate Group in Sociology
Associate Professor of Sociology and Education
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Michigan, 1998
Contact Information:
247 McNeil
215-898-9633
hannumem@soc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page
Kristen Harknett
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology and Demography, Princeton University, 2002
Contact Information:
271 McNeil
215-573-9388
harknett@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page
Jerry A. Jacobs
Professor of Sociology and Education
Ph.D., Sociology, Harvard University, 1983
Contact Information:
217 McNeil
215-898-1536
jjacobs@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Loretta S. Jemmott
Director of the Center for Health Disparities Research
van Ameringen Professor in Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
Professor of Nursing and Education
Ph.D., Education, University of Pennsylvania, 1987
M.S.N., Nursing, University of Pennsylvania, 1982
Contact Information:
Room 239 Fagin Hall
215-898-8287
jemmott@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Joseph Kable
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Ph.D., Neuroscience, University of Pennsylvania
Contact Information:
Solomon Labs, 3720 Walnut St, Room C5
215-746-3873
kable@psych.upenn.edu
Psychology faculty page, Kable Lab
Grace Kao
Professor of Sociology and Education
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago, 1997
Contact Information:
232 McNeil
215-898-9060
grace2@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Iliana Kohler
Associate Director, Population Aging Research Center
PSC Research Associate
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, 2001
215-898-7990
iliana@pop.upenn.edu
Hans-Peter Kohler
Frederick J. Warren Professor of Demography
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 1997
Contact Information:
272 McNeil
215-898-7686
hpkohler@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Dirk Krueger
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Minnesota, 1999
Contact Information:
511 McNeil
215-898-6691
dkrueger@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Annette Lareau
Stanley I. Sheerr Term Professor in the Social Sciences
Professor of Sociology and Education
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Berkeley, 1984
Contact Information:
113 McNeil
215-898-3515
alareau@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
John M. MacDonald
Chair, Department of Criminology
Director, Jerry Lee Center of Criminology
Associate Professor of Criminology
Ph.D., Criminology, University of Maryland, 1999
Contact Information:
483 McNeil
215-746-3623
johnmm@sas.upenn.edu
Criminology faculty page
Janice F. Madden
Professor of Regional Science, Sociology, and Real Estate
Ph.D., Economics, Duke University, 1972
Contact Information:
365 McNeil
215-898-6739
madden@ssc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Wharton faculty page
David S. Mandell
Associate Director, Center for Mental Health Policy and Services Research
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Sc.D., Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, 2000
Contact Information:
836 / 3535 Market
215-662-2504
mandelld@mail.med.upenn.edu
Psychiatry faculty page, Public Health faculty page
Matthew D. McHugh
Assistant Professor of Nursing

J.D., Northeastern University School of Law, 2006
Ph.D., Nursing, University of Pennsylvania, 2004

Contact Information:
379 Fagin Hall
215-746-0205
mchughm@nursing.upenn.edu
Nursing faculty page
Olivia S. Mitchell
Executive Director, Pension Research Council
Director, Boettner Center for Pensions and Retirement Research
International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans Professor
Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy
Ph.D., Economics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1978
Contact Information:
3000 SH-DH
215-898-0424
mitchelo@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
Emily Owens
Associate Professor of Criminology
Undergraduate Chair, Department of Criminology
Ph.D., Economics, University of Maryland, 2007
215-746-3537
emilyo@sas.upenn.edu
Criminology faculty page
Hyunjoon Park
Korea Foundation Associate Professor of Sociology and Education
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2005
Contact Information:
219 McNeil
215-898-0942
hypark@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page
Emilio Alberto Parrado
Associate Director, Population Studies Center
Chair, Department of Sociology
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago, 1997
Contact Information:
244 McNeil
215-898-7831
eparrado@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Mark V. Pauly
Bendheim Professor
Professor of Health Care Management
Professor of Business and Public Policy
Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Virginia, 1967
Contact Information:
208 Colonial Penn Center
215-898-5411
pauly@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
Daniel E. Polsky
Executive Director, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Health Care Management
Ph.D., Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 1996
Contact Information:
1212 Blockley Hall
215-573-5752
polsky@mail.med.upenn.edu
Public Health faculty page
Andrew Postlewaite
Harry P. Kamen Professor of Economics
Professor of Finance
Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, Northwestern University, 1974
Contact Information:
458 McNeil
215-898-7350
apostlew@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page, Wharton faculty page
Samuel H. Preston
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Economics, Princeton University, 1968
Contact Information:
239 McNeil
215-746-5396
spreston@sas.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Paul Rosenbaum
Robert G. Putzel Professor of Statistics
Ph.D., Statistics, Harvard University, 1980
Contact Information:
473 Huntsman
215-898-3120
rosenbap@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page, Personal site
Jason Schnittker
Associate Director, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health and Society Scholars Program
Undergraduate Chair, Department of Sociology
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Indiana University, 2001
Contact Information:
220 McNeil
215-573-7514
jschnitt@ssc.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Theodore G. Schurr
Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Anthropology, Emory University, 1998
Contact Information:
344 Museum
215-573-7632
tgschurr@sas.upenn.edu
Anthropology faculty page, Genographic Project profile
Holger Sieg
J.M. Cohen Term Chair of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, Carnegie Mellon University, 1996
Contact Information:
459 McNeil
215-898-7194
holgers@sas.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Herbert L. Smith
Director, Population Studies Center
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Michigan, 1982
Contact Information:
230 McNeil
215-898-7768
hsmith@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page
Petra Todd
Alfred L. Cass Term Professor of Economics
Ph.D., Economics, University of Chicago, 1996
Contact Information:
520 McNeil
215-898-4084
ptodd@econ.upenn.edu
Economics faculty page
Kevin G. Volpp
Director, Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics
Director, Penn CMU Roybal P30 Center in Behavioral Economics and Health
Professor of Medicine and Health Care Management
Ph.D., Health Economics, Public Policy and Management, University of Pennsylvania, 1998
M.D., Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, 1998
Contact Information:
1232 Blockley
215-573-0270
volpp70@wharton.upenn.edu
Wharton faculty page
Susan C. Watkins
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Visiting Research Scientist, California Center for Population Research, UCLA
Ph.D., Sociology, Princeton University, 1980
Contact Information:
UCLA
310-206-7566
swatkins@ccpr.ucla.edu
UCLA faculty page
Tukufu Zuberi
Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations
Professor of Sociology
Professor of Africana Studies
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Chicago, 1989
Contact Information:
246 McNeil
215-573-5169
tukufu@pop.upenn.edu
Sociology faculty page, Selected Works page, History Detectives